Former Secretary-General Francesco Calogero wins prestigious award

On 23 October 2018 the American Physical Society announced the award of the 2019 Dannie Heineman Prize for Mathematical Physics jointly to Prof. Francesco Calogero, the former Secretary-General of the Pugwash Conferences on Science and World Affairs.

The citation reads,

For profound contributions to the field of exactly solvable models in statistical mechanics and many body physics, in particular the construction of the widely studied Gaudin magnet and the Calogero-Sutherland, Shastry-Sutherland, and Calogero-Moser models.

Pugwash congratulates Prof. Calogero, a serving member of the Pugwash Council, as well as his co-recipients.

More information is available at the APS website.