Islamabad meeting on India-Pakistan relations

On 5-6 March 2009 Pugwash organised a meeting, ‘Prospects for Restarting the India-Pakistan Dialogue’, in Islamabad to address the emerging bilateral relationship after the Mumbai terror strikes on the November 26, 2008. It was part of the larger Pugwash track-II dialogue initiative in the region that began in 2002.

Islamabad meeting report [PDF]

Participant List

Sherry Rehman, Information Minister and spokesperson, Government of Pakistan

Abdul Sattar , former Foreign Minister

Najmuddin Shaikh, former Foreign Secretary

Aziz Ahmad Khan, former Ambassador to Afghanistan and High Commissioner to India

Humayun Khan, former Foreign Secretary and High Commissioner to India

Lt. Gen. (ret) Talat Masood, former Defense Secretary

Ahmer Bilal Sofi, Advocate Supreme Court and President, Research Society for International Law

Rustam Shah Mohmand, Pakistan Afghanistan Jirga, Former Chief Secretary NWFP, former Ambassador to Afghanistan

Safyia Aftab, Resarch Fellow Strategic and Economic Policy Research

Waleed Rasool, AJK University

Sardar Attique Ahmed Khan, former PM of Azad JK & Leader of the Opposition AJK Assembly

Arif Kamal, Ambassador & Director Global Studies, National Defence University

Tariq Osman Haider, former Foreign Additional Secretary

Shah Ghulam Qadir, Speaker AJK Assembly

Abdul Hameed Toor, Professor, Department of Physics QeA University

Zahid Hussain, journalist, the Times, Wall Street Journal

Nasim Zehra, journalist and associate, Harvard University

Ismail Khan, journalist

Shafqat Kakakhel, diplomat

Moeed Yusuf, Harvard University and Boston University



Amitabh Mattoo, Professor JNU University, former Vice Chancellor Jammu University

Uday Bhaskhar, Cmdr (ret.)

Raja Menon, Rear Admiral (ret.)

Mehbooba Mufti, President PDP of JK, Member of Parliament (Lok Sabha)

Iftikhar Hussain Ansari, Molvi and PDP of JK

Uma Singh, Professor, JNU University

Kapil Kak, Air Vice Marshall (ret.)

Madhu Kishwar, journalist

Ved Bhasin, chairman Kashmir Times

Happymon Jacob, JNU University



Paolo Cotta-Ramusino, Secretary General, Pugwash