Erbil workshop on the prospects for Iraq

On 11-13 May 2007 Pugwash convened an international workshop on Iraq’s crisis of instability in Erbil, the northern Iraqi capital of the Kurdistan Regional Government (KRG). The workshop gathered participants from Egypt, Iran, Iraq, Italy, Jordan, Turkey, the United Kingdom and the United States. The twin objectives of the meeting were firstly to gain insight into the root causes of the Iraqi conflict situation; and secondly, to find ways to deal with the sectarian violence and other types of conflicts in order to help the de-escalation of the crisis. 

Erbil report on prospects for Iraq

Rapporteur: Saideh Lotfian

List of Participants

Iraqi Participants

Khalied Al Atiya, The First Deputy Speaker, Republic of Iraq Council of Representatives,  Baghdad

Mr. Nazar Yaser Al Haider, Vice Chairman, Iraqi Minorities Council, Baghdad, Iraq

Mr. Salar Ali, Deputy Minister of Culture, Iraq

Miss Layla J. Alkhafaji, Member, Iraqi Council of Representatives, Baghdad, Iraq

Mr. Nasser Al-Rubaey

Dr. Athem Alsabti, Professor of Physics and Astronomy at the University of London Observatory / University College London; International Relations Officer for the Iraqi Academy of Science

Prof. Hussain Al-Shahristani, Minister of Oil, Republic of Iraq, Baghdad [formerly: Chairman of Standing Committee, Iraqi National Academy of Sciences; Visiting Professor, University of Surrey]

Mr. Sherzad A. Ameen (al-Najjar), Higher Education Advisor to Prime Minister, Kurdistan Region Government, Erbil, Iraq; Ass. Professor Political Science, College of Political Science, University of Salahaddin, Erbil, KRG, Iraq

Mr. Jamil Baban, Chartered Engineer, Fellow of Engineering Council UK ; Fellow of Energy Institute UK

Dr. Ibrahim Bahr Alolom, former Minister of Oil, Baghdad, Iraq

Mr. Sahib Esa, Council of Ministers, KRG, Erbil, Iraq

Mr. Khasro Goran, Deputy Governor, Mosul Governate, Iraq

Dr. Jabir Habeeb Jabir, Member of Iraqi Parliament, and Professor of Political Science, Baghdad, Iraq

Mr. Yonan M. Hozaya ,Deputy Secretary General of ADM ,former Minister of Industry and Energy in KRG, Erbil, Iraq

Mr. Mohammed Ihsan, Minister of Extra Regional Affairs, Kurdistan Regional Government, Erbil- Iraqi Kurdistan

Mr. Jasim M. Jaffar, Minister of Youth, Baghdad, Iraq

Mr. Narmin Othman Hassan, Minister of Environment, Baghdad, Iraq

Mr. Nijyar H. Shemdin, Member, Board of Directors, Iraqi Kurdistan Regional Government-USA Liaison Office, McLean, VA, USA

Nassar Squir, Member of Parliament, Baghdad, Iraq

Mr. Arif Tayfor Al-Sardar, Deputy of President, Iraqi Council of Representatives, Baghdad, Iraq

Dr. Nabil Tohala, Project Manager, Consolidated Contractors Company S.A.L., Erbil, Iraq

Mr. George Yacu, Oil & Gas Advisor, Kurdistan Regional Government

HE Dr. Idris Hadi, Minister for Higher Education and Scientific Research, Kurdistan Regional Government, Iraq


Non-Iraq Participants

Gen. (ret.) Mansour Abu Rashid, Chairman, Amman Center for Peace and Development, Amman, Jordan

Dr. Kayhan Barzegar, Assistant Professor of International Relations, Islamic Azad University (IAU), Science and Research Campus; Editor-in-chief, Journal of Law and Politics; Senior Research Fellow, Center for Scientific Research and Middle East Strategic Studies, Tehran, Iran

Prof. Paolo Cotta-Ramusino, Secretary-General, Pugwash Conferences on Science and World Affairs; Member, Pugwash Executive Committee; Professor of Mathematical Physics, University of Milan, Italy

Mr. Marwan A. Dudin, Minister, Ambassador, Senator Rtd., Amman, Jordan

Ms. Ellen Laipson, President and CEO, The Henry L. Stimson Center, Washington, DC, USA;

Prof. Saideh Lotfian, Member, Pugwash Council; Associate Professor of Political Science, and Associate Dean for Research, Faculty of Law and Political Science, University of Tehran, Iran

Dr. H. Tarik Oguzlu, Assistant Professor of International Relations, Bilkent University, Faculty of Economics, Administrative and Social Sciences, Department of International Relations, Bilkent, Ankara/Turkey

Mr. Nasser Saghafi-Ameri, Senior Fellow, Foreign Policy and International Relations Department (FPIRD), Center for Strategic Research, Tehran, Iran

Maj.-Gen. (ret.) Dr. Mohamed Kadry Said, Member, Pugwash Council; Military Advisor, Al-Ahram Center for Political and Strategic Studies, Cairo, Egypt

Sir Hilary Synnott KCMG, Consulting Senior Fellow, International Institute for Strategic Studies, UK; Eric Lane Honorary Fellow, Clare College, Cambridge, UK



Mr. Tom Meek, First Secretary (Political), British Embassy, Baghdad

Pugwash Staff: Claudia Vaughn, Pugwash Conferences